First post: Challenge already underway

Having decided to start this beer challenge part way through January, this first post has had to happen half way into January. I think I have got off to a fairly good start, which prompted the idea that I might be able to do this in the first place. I am already up to 20 beers with 17 days passed (I should be on 21 later this evening), so slightly ahead of the game at this stage. The photo shows only 11 of the beers that I have tried.  The other beers have been mostly on tap from bars and pubs in both Spain and England.

P1020678

My favourite two beers so far have been Loose Cannon Brewery’s Abingdon Bridge and Young’s Winter Warmer. Although I do like San Miguel 1516, it is so much smoother than its brother, San Miguel. Unfortunately it is only available in Spain.

We did have a couple of interesting beers at the Brewery Tap Pub quiz on Tuesday night, Spectrum by the Salopian Brewery and Rock Bitter by The Nottingham Brewery. Spectrum was an amber beer with large creamy head and an excellent pump clip. Quite often, as I am sure with most of you, I am persuaded to try a beer by the cool image or graphic on the pump clip. Rock Bitter was a very light golden colour with a fresh, hoppy taste. I preferred the Spectrum as did my drinking companions, Simon and Chris. The beers were definitely more interesting than the outcome of the quiz. Second from last was where we came with our ace team of quizzers, Conchi, Simon Peel, Rob Emery, Harriet VRH, Chris, getting 30 out of 53. Oops!

WP_001303   WP_001302

One comment on “First post: Challenge already underway

Leave a Reply

